Boyne U13s beat Lansdowne well

Boyne under 13's scored a comprehensive win against Lansdowne at Shamrock lodge on Sunday 12th. The final score was 56 - 0 and the big positive for Boyne was not the points scored but the defensive shut out. Bouncing back from a bad defeat at Navan last week, Boyne started the game with a greater ferocity than last week and pinned the Lansdowne attack back in their own half with Lansdowne unable to make ground against a stout Boyne defence. Unlike last week Boyne worked hard for each other and frequently two Boyne players made the tackle simultaneously.
The Boyne rucking game had improved this week but it is still an area which needs a lot of improvement. There were superb displays around the pitch but the work rate of flanker Brian McDonnell at the breakdown was superb and his ability to drive through the rucks kept Boyne going forward. There were good performances all over the field but the work rate of McDonnell, Rory Hennessey and Brian O'Connell in the back row was worthy of special mention. Prop Stuart Rooney provided some dynamic ball carrying and contributed a fine try in his third outing for Boyne. The Boyne wings had another excellent day defending well when needed and they were much more decisive in attack than their opposite numbers. Emmet Murphy continues to improve and had another fine game on one wing and Cian Harrington constantly threatened with ball in hand. The Boyne backs spread the ball quickly and the three Jacks at scrumhalf, flyhalf and first centre ensured the Boyne attack outside profited. Sean Callaghan, Fiachra McEnaney made great ground with some powerful running while forwards Adam Delaney, Cathal Downey and Oisin McAvinchey provided the close quarter drive around the fringes of the rucks and mauls. Jack Keogh again outlined his defensive qualities at fullback where he could always be relied upon to make the important tackles.

The Boyne panel were Oisin McAvinchey, Carthal Downey, Stuart Rooney, Fiachra McEnaney(Captain), Adam Delaney, Rory Hennessey, Brian McDonnell, Brian O'Connell, Jack Higgins, Jack Murphy, Jack McDonald, Sean Callaghan, Cian Harrington, Emmet Murphy, Jack Keogh, Diarmuid Leahy for Murphy, Diarmuid Mongey for McAvinchey, Joseph Molloy for O'Connell, Karl Morgan for Harrington, Dylan Sheehan for McDonald, Cathal Kavanagh for Higgins, Conor Pentony for Rooney,Sean Brennan for Delaney and Bobby Smith for Harrington.