Dundalk v Boyne NE Semi Final

North East Semi Final Under 13 Dundalk 22 Boyne 26 Boyne and Dundalk went into battle in a classic Louth Darby match in Mill Road on Thursday evening. Through the years, there has rarely been more than a score between both sides and it was no different this time round. Dundalk started strongly and went through to score after just 2 minutes. Boyne responded well and after a break from the scrum, David Hobbs off loaded to Lee Grifferty who touched down. Euan Canniffe converted to give Boyne a narrow lead. After this Dundalk took control of the game and camped themselves into Boynes 22 for the next 10 minutes. Boyne did not panic and managed to eventually clear their lines. On 22 minutes Dundalk got in for their second try and a minute later their third. Boyne responded well with a David Hobbs try which was superbly converted again by Canniffe. The score finished at half time Dundalk 17 Boyne 12. Again this strong Dundalk side started the second half well and it wasn’t long before they were in again for their 4th try. Boyne now trailed by 10 points but like some recent games, they kept belief and a superb individual break by Hobbs to touch down under the posts brought the score back to within 3 points. Stefan Borrs was introduced in the second half in an unfamiliar role in the centre. His strong tackling had an immediate impact and seemed to unsettle Dundalk. His work was rewarded when he broke free to score under the posts. This was converted leaving Boyne with a slender lead to defend in the final few minutes. At this stage injuries on both sides disrupted the game but Boyne managed to hold on to book a place in the final against Skerries next week. Well done to all involved and speedy recovery to both Stefan and Frank. Team: Oisin Lynch, Benji McGrath, Marcu Maruchin, Frank Madden, Ivan Murray, Danny Little, Lee Grifferty, David Hobbs, Conor O’Dwyer, Euan Canniffe, David Maxwell, Alan Foley, Cian Gaynor, Zak Swanson, Caolan Nulty, Alex Hanraty, James Keogh , Sean Horan, James Stokes, Eoin Cummins, Stefan Borrs & Evan Kelly (By Gary Little)