Boyne U13's Win Leinster Plate

Leinster U13 Plate Final
Boyne 35 Cill Dara 5
Boyne put behind the disappointment of losing the North East final on last Monday to Skerries and produced an outstanding performance to lift the Leinster Plate at Donnybrook on Saturday morning. The spiritual home of Leinster rugby was the ideal setting and Boyne rose to the occasion.
From the very first minute, it was obvious that Boyne were on their game with some early crunching tackles and good aggression in the breakdown. On 7 minutes Sean Horan made a break and quick support with a David Hobbs reset allowed David Maxwell touch down. This was converted by Euan Canniffe. Boyne were in again after 15 minutes. This time it was captain David Hobbs touching down after a typical line break. Shortly after, Boyne went through a series or rucks which brought them just short of the Cill Dara line. This time scrum half Conor O’Dwyer did a Conor Murray impression and picked the ball from base of ruck to dive over the line. Again Euan Canniffe was successful with conversion. In the closing minutes of the half David Hobbs broke from the back of the scrum to again touch down. This first half was Boyne best display all season and Cill Dara simply could not cope with the pressure Boyne put on them both in defence and attack. Boyne were superb in the breakdown and the forwards turned over several Cill Dara rucks. The first half finished Boyne 28 – Cill Dara 0.
Boyne had their noses well in front at this stage and a superb interception try by Euan Canniffe just 2 minutes into the second half effectively ended any hope of a Cill Dara comeback. Euan Canniffe kept up his 100% record with a great conversion. Boyne remained in control throughout the second half and despite several changes being introduced continued to attack with purpose and defend as a unit. Cill Dara did pull a try back but try as they may, failed to make any further inroads near the Boyne line. The result was no less than Boyne deserved and it was wonderful to see the injured Boyne players who were unavailable to play take just a much joy and pleasure from the win as the guys on the pitch. Well done to all involved and players and coaches can now enjoy a well earned summer break.
Team: Evan Kelly, Danny Little, Marcu Maruchin, Frank Madden, Ivan Murray, Lee Grifferty, David Hobbs, Conor O’Dwyer, Euan Canniffe, David Maxwell, Alan Foley, Zak Swanson, Caolan Nulty, Alex Hanraty, James Keogh , Sean Horan, James Stokes, Eoin Cummins, Oisin Lynch, Callum Agnew, Sean Wynn.

By Gary Little